GECA certified products count towards ISCA's IS ratings

The Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia (ISCA) is the peak industry body for advancing sustainability in Australia’s infrastructure. ISCA is a member-based, not-for-profit industry council and works to advance sustainability in infrastructure planning, procurement, delivery and operation through its IS rating scheme. The scheme recognises GECA as an environmental labelling body and therefore rewards project proponents who source GECA certified products and are seeking an IS Certification.

IS assesses and rates projects’ sustainability performances by addressing six themes, which have 15 categories and a total of 51 credits. Ratings are expressed as a score on a 100 point scale with scores of:

  • 25 – 49 points being classed as good 
  • 50 – 74 being excellent and
  • 75 – 100 being leading performance

All benchmark levels are intended to reflect beyond business and usual performance. The themes and categories are:

1. Management and governance
- Management systems
- Procurement and purchasing
- Climate change adaptation

2. Using resources
- Energy and carbon
- Water
- Materials

3. Emissions, pollution and waste
- Discharges to air, land & water
- Land
- Waste

4. Ecology
- Ecology

5. People and place
- Community, health, wellbeing and safety
- Heritage
- Stakeholder participation
- Urban and landscape design

6. Innovation
- Innovation

The IS rating tool is designed to assess most types of infrastructure, including projects that fall into the following classes.

- Roads and bridges
- Bus and cycle ways
- Footpaths
- Ports and harbours
- Airports
- Railways

- Communication transmission and distribution

-  Water storage and supply
-  Sewerage and drainage

Under the Mat-2 credit in the Materials category, points are available for projects undertaking AsBuilt and Operation ratings that use environmentally labelled products from environmental labelling bodies or stewardship schemes, including GECA certified products. The aim of the credit is to reward procurement of major materials that have environmental labels or are from sustainable supply chains.

Use of GECA certified products can potentially result in 0.25, 0.50 and 0.75 points being awarded towards the overall rating of the infrastructure project.  

  • Level 1: one material or product is GECA certified
  • Level 2: 10-20 per cent of materials or products by value are GECA certified
  • Level 3: more than 20 per cent of materials or products by value are GECA certified

Further information about ISCA and the IS tool is available on the ISCA website, which can be found here